Mathematics

If you have a question about this list, please contact:

Each talk has an organiser. Please contact them in the first instance if you have a query about a particular talk. Only contact one of the people below if you have a question about the list, such as whether your talk or series could be added.

Analysis of p-Laplacian Regularization in Semi-Supervised Learning
Matthew Thorpe (Cambridge)
Wed 04 Oct 2017, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5323


TBA
Catherine Powell (Manchester)
Wed 18 Oct 2017, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5323


Gaussian process regression in Bayesian inverse problems
Aretha Teckentrup (University of Edinburgh)
Wed 07 Dec 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5327



Scaling theory for vortices in the two-dimensional inverse energy cascade
Helen Burgess (University of St Andrew's)
Wed 16 Nov 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5327


Attractors of Piecewise Smooth Maps
Paul Glendinning (University of Manchester)
Wed 09 Nov 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5327


Real world constraints in machine learning.
Amos Storkey (University of Edinburgh)
Wed 02 Nov 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5327

Variance Reduction for Faster Non-Convex Optimization
Filip Hanzely
Tue 01 Nov 2016, 12:15 - 13:30
JCMB 6207

SNIPE for memory-limited PCA with incomplete data: From failure to success
Armin Eftekhari (Alan Turing Institute)
Wed 26 Oct 2016, 16:30 - 17:00
JCMB 5327

Learning Sparse Additive Models with Interactions in High Dimensions
Hemant Tyagi (Alan Turing Institute)
Wed 26 Oct 2016, 16:00 - 16:30
JCMB 5327


From atoms to data science: numerical algorithms for sampling and thermodynamic control
Ben Leimkuhler (University of Edinburgh)
Wed 19 Oct 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5327


Parallel Adaptive Importance Sampling
Dr Simon Cotter (University of Manchester)
Wed 12 Oct 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5327


Finite BMS transformations
Glenn Barnich
Wed 12 Oct 2016, 14:30 - 15:30
ICMS, New Seminar Room



Scrambling time in eternal BTZ black hole
Andrius Stikonas
Wed 28 Sep 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
ICMS, New Seminar Room

Geometric Singular Perturbation Analysis of a Model for Micro-Electro Mechanical Systems
Annalisa Luorio (Technische Universität, Wien)
Wed 28 Sep 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5327

Soft Heisenberg hair
Daniel Grumiller
Wed 28 Sep 2016, 14:30 - 15:30
ICMS, New Seminar Room



Newton sketch (Pilanci & Wainwright - 5/2015)
Robert Gower
Tue 06 Oct 2015, 12:15 - 13:15
JCMB 6311



FreeAgent Informatics
Dave Evans, FreeAgent
Tue 30 Jun 2015, 16:30 - 17:30
Informatics Forum (IF-G.07)

Aridhia Informatics
Rodrigo Barnes
Tue 26 May 2015, 16:30 - 17:30
Informatics Forum (IF-4.31/4.33)