A seminar series in the School of Mathematics.

If you have a question about this list, please contact:

Each talk has an organiser. Please contact them in the first instance if you have a query about a particular talk. Only contact one of the people below if you have a question about the list, such as whether your talk or series could be added.

Scalable bifurcation analysis of nonlinear partial differential equations
Patrick Farrell (University of Oxford)
Wed 15 Nov 2017, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5323

Controlling gene-expression noise with feedback in burst size
Pavol Bokes (Comenious University)
Wed 08 Nov 2017, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5323

Preconditioned iterative methods for nonsymmetric Toeplitz and block Toeplitz matrices
Jennifer Pestana (Strathclyde)
Wed 01 Nov 2017, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5323



Analysis of p-Laplacian Regularization in Semi-Supervised Learning
Matthew Thorpe (Cambridge)
Wed 04 Oct 2017, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5323

Gaussian process regression in Bayesian inverse problems
Aretha Teckentrup (University of Edinburgh)
Wed 07 Dec 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5327

Scaling theory for vortices in the two-dimensional inverse energy cascade
Helen Burgess (University of St Andrew's)
Wed 16 Nov 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5327

Attractors of Piecewise Smooth Maps
Paul Glendinning (University of Manchester)
Wed 09 Nov 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5327

Real world constraints in machine learning.
Amos Storkey (University of Edinburgh)
Wed 02 Nov 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5327

SNIPE for memory-limited PCA with incomplete data: From failure to success
Armin Eftekhari (Alan Turing Institute)
Wed 26 Oct 2016, 16:30 - 17:00
JCMB 5327

Learning Sparse Additive Models with Interactions in High Dimensions
Hemant Tyagi (Alan Turing Institute)
Wed 26 Oct 2016, 16:00 - 16:30
JCMB 5327

From atoms to data science: numerical algorithms for sampling and thermodynamic control
Ben Leimkuhler (University of Edinburgh)
Wed 19 Oct 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5327

Parallel Adaptive Importance Sampling
Dr Simon Cotter (University of Manchester)
Wed 12 Oct 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5327

Geometric Singular Perturbation Analysis of a Model for Micro-Electro Mechanical Systems
Annalisa Luorio (Technische Universität, Wien)
Wed 28 Sep 2016, 16:00 - 17:00
JCMB 5327