A weekly seminar on linguistic topics (http://www.ppls.ed.ac.uk/lel/groups/linguistic-circle).

 

If you have a question about this list, please contact:

Each talk has an organiser. Please contact them in the first instance if you have a query about a particular talk. Only contact one of the people below if you have a question about the list, such as whether your talk or series could be added.

Urdu/Hindi Questions at the Syntax-Pragmatics-Prosody Interface
Miriam Butt (Konstanz)
Thu 16 Nov 2017, 16:10 - 17:00
VENUE TO BE CONFIRMED

TBC
Douglas A. Kibbee (Illinois)
Thu 19 Oct 2017, 16:10 - 17:00
DSB 3.10/3.11

How much of what phonologists know about do speakers know? A simple, unnatural rule in English
John Harris (UCL), Nick Neasom (UCL) and Kevin Tang (Yale)
Thu 05 Oct 2017, 16:10 - 17:00
DSB 3.10/3.11

What do listeners think of disfluencies?
Martin Corley
Thu 28 Sep 2017, 16:10 - 17:00
VENUE TO BE CONFIRMED

Is/Ought: Hume's Guillotine, Linguistics, and Standards of Language
John E. Joseph (University of Edinburgh)
Thu 15 Jun 2017, 16:00 - 17:00
DSB 3.10/3.11

Grammaticalization is gradual, innit: question tags in Multicultural London English
Heike Pichler (Newcastle University)
Thu 30 Mar 2017, 16:10 - 17:00
DSB 3.10/3.11

The role of input in early multilingualism
Tanja Rinker, University of Konstanz
Thu 09 Mar 2017, 16:10 - 17:00
DSB 3.10/3.11




Quantifying input quality in bilingual language development
Sharon Unsworth (Centre for Language Studies, Radboud University, the Netherlands)
Thu 19 Jan 2017, 16:10 - 17:00
DSB 3.10/3.11

The pervasive problems of processing negation
Nina Kazanina, University of Bristol
Thu 01 Dec 2016, 16:10 - 17:00
DSB 3.10/3.11

Since since again
Sabine Iatridou (MIT)
Thu 17 Nov 2016, 16:10 - 17:00
DSB 3.10/3.11

Functional Variation Drives Regional Variation
Jack Grieve, Centre for Forensic Linguistics, Aston University
Thu 10 Nov 2016, 16:10 - 17:00
DSB 3.10/3.11

The contribution of Tibetan to the Study of evidentiality
Nathan Hill (SOAS)
Thu 27 Oct 2016, 16:10 - 17:00
DSB 3.10/3.11

Investigating evidence for final [v] devoicing in Older Scots
Warren Maguire, Rhona Alcorn, Ben Molineaux, Joanna Kopaczyk, Vasilis Karaiskos & Bettelou Los, University of Edinburgh
Thu 13 Oct 2016, 16:10 - 17:00
DSB 3.10/3.11